7 nights from £469 - £969pp

Visiting : Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Boat/Hotel Hotel & Bike
Guiding Self-Guided i
Good For Coasts and Islands, Multi-Country, Riverside Routes
Standard Superior, Comfort i
Level Easy to Moderate i
Distance 202mi/325km !
Runs Apr - Oct
Departs Sat - Sun
19 Customer Reviews
12

What other customers have said

Been on this tour? Add your review!

  • 5
    out of 5

    Stella Smith
    9th October 2018

    This was our first ever cycling holiday and we loved it! In particular, the routes in Italy were fabulous - beautiful quiet, flat roads and cycle paths along canals and through vineyards with stunning views of the snow topped Dolomites. The instructions were detailed and once we got the hang of reading the maps and route notes we enjoyed taking our time and enjoying the scenery. Bikes were fine and the transfer of luggage all worked smoothly. Overall, accommodation was great - some of it was a very pleasant surprise. All our dealings with Freedom Treks were efficient and helpful and we will certainly be booking with them again.
  • 4
    out of 5

    George Hazel
    8th October 2018

    This was a very enjoyable holiday, cycling through beautiful and varied scenery, mostly on very safe cycle paths. The route was clearly described in the book and the accommodation was always clean and comfortable. Good saddles made a difference to the enjoyment of the trip! We are already planning our next cycling holiday.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Geoff Parry
    24th September 2018

    We really enjoyed our holiday. The variety of cycling routes was excellent and the scenery beautiful. The information provided was helpful and accurate.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Andrew Cummings
    24th September 2018

    This was a very enjoyable cycling holiday. The ferry trips at the start made it interesting and the view of Venice from the causeway was amazing. There was varied terrain and some beautiful scenery. Most of the journey was flat which made for easy cycling but be prepared for the ‘hills’ at the end. We climbed over 2,000 feet in Croatia and even the most die-hard cyclist was seen walking up one of the ‘hills’.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Catherine Bethell
    17th July 2018

    We loved the trip, cycling through the countryside was such a fantastic way to see the world.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Rob McIntyre
    16th October 2017

    Our trip was exceptionally well organised down to the last detail. From before we left the UK, Freedom Treks was attentive, sending emails with comprehensive information about our travel and arrival, what to do at each stage and when. The bikes were waiting for us, each one fitting individual party members, each one clean and equipped to a high standard with milometer, bags, lock, and new waterbottle. All our hotels were tasteful and well-located with out bags waiting for us when we arrived, either in the lobbies or in the rooms. Some of the ensuite bathrooms were exceptional and felt very luxurious. We loved every moment of our trip, cycling through beautiful countryside on very robust bikes, and passing through interesting villages and towns, discovering places and things we didn't know existed. Even the city of Trieste was a gem, such a surprise, full of beautiful buildings and history. The books and maps we were given were very accurate and complemented one party member's GPS on his mobile phone. We couldn't have wished for more, and we will definitely be booking another trip with Freedom Treks in the future. So many routes to choose from, the only problem may be deciding which one next!
  • 4
    out of 5

    Jillian Ferguson
    25th September 2017

    In general the tour was good but was dampened by the very poor wet weather we had. The maps and directions are good but there is room for improvement. Hotels selected for tour were really good. Efficient service provided by Freedom Treks as a holiday company.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Jenny Knott
    25th August 2017

    This was my first experience with Freedom Treks and it was a great experience. We were a mixed party comprising folks from the age of 14 to 57. It's hard to say who enjoyed it most, suffice it to say that everyone did. The cycling was interesting enough to stimulate the experienced but not too tough for the less experienced. We all loved being off the beaten track much of the time and found the tips for lunch stops very useful.We also enjoyed the varied terrain, especially in the latter part of the week, though there were a few complaints about the bigger hills. All the hotels were immaculately clean, with efficient showers, (much needed at the end of a hot sticky day). They are mostly generic style hotels which were fine for us but might not suit everyone.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Fiona Rooney
    25th August 2017

    The Venice to Porec tour was just as it was advertised and we were not disappointed. The scenery was varied, the cycling grade was easy for 4 days and moderate for the last 2 days - just as explained in the literature. Freedom Treks staff could not have been more helpful, attentive or efficient. The local agent also was efficient and the bikes had clearly been well maintained/serviced. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the small towns but also the chance to experience the buzz of Trieste. There are often detours/additions suggested on the day trips which we enjoyed but it was also good to have suggestions for shortening days, in case that became a necessity (bad weather for instance). Our only complaint - the week was over too quickly!!
  • 3
    out of 5

    Caroline Hughes
    26th June 2017

    The Venice to Porec tour gives you the opportunity to explore beautiful Venice but be aware that the first few days of cycling are absolutely flat with nothing of great interest to stop and see. However from Monfalcone to the grandeur of Trieste and onwards, the cycling was more challenging (some very steep hills) and the scenery was stunning, cycling along the coast, on country lanes and cycle paths. The detour to the nature reserve before you reach Monfalcone is a must, but make sure you take the route through the middle not around the perimeter. You can see beavers, birds and wild Camargue horses. We chose not to explore Portoroz but took a minibus back to the gorgeous town of Piran, which I can highly recommend. As always, the bikes were in excellent condition. The hotels we stayed in were excellent too.
  • 4
    out of 5

    Neil Mccallum
    25th April 2017

    Very enjoyable holiday from Venice to Porec. Excellent service / instruction from reps in Venice. Definitely recommended for those seeking a relatively easy, flat sun on your back cycle holiday.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Claire Cochrane
    18th October 2016

    We had a party of 8 and we all really enjoyed this trip. Last day was the most difficult due to the climbs and suggest getting to the last hotel in Porec as early as possible to enjoy the pool and facilities. unfortunately, we did not do this.
  • 4
    out of 5

    Shailesh Patel
    18th October 2016

    Overall well organised and helpful. There were a few failings on the Italian end but nothing too serious. Would definitely consider booking with Freedom Treks again.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Julie Smith
    26th September 2016

    We were very happy we chose this route and went with Freedom Treks. We went as a family of 5 all in good cycling shape, so that helped. If you are considering this route for your family with children, I would recommend that they be able to cycle for 5-7 hours including food breaks. The course is not all trails so taking older kids (12+) with more cycling experience on roads and on gravel roads is best. The last 2 days were more challenging with hills, but they were the most enjoyable days going up and down in such beautiful scenery. We want to do more bike trips now. We were glad we started with this path.
  • 5
    out of 5

    John Kendell
    15th July 2016

    My girlfriend and I did the Venice to Porec trip and it was fantastic. FT supplies a good package of information on your arrival and also supplements the trip with arrows along the way. As an unfit 40 something I found the daily distances are both challenging but very rewarding.
  • 5
    out of 5

    RSF
    24th May 2016

    Excellent, well-maintained bikes, well-suited to the ride, which included very occasional bits of ‘off-road’ (memorably, a short flat narrow, but scenic, path through a field by a wood!). Very comprehensive and easy-to-follow route-finding information, supplemented by discreet direction stickers on roadside posts for extra reassurance. Varied scenery, with plenty of interesting sights along the way, and, for several days later in the ride, a backdrop of mountains (still snow-covered in early May). Easy relaxed cycling, with only a few moderate hills to add interest in the last couple of days. All the hotels were welcoming, clean and comfortable and provided a good breakfast! Dining opportunities were extensive and varied throughout the trip – you’ll be spoilt if you’re a seafood lover. All-in-all, a well-organised trip - highly recommended!
  • 5
    out of 5

    Hannah Howe
    11th June 2014

    We had a great first cycling holiday and were just delighted with the whole trip.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Carol Austin
    8th May 2015

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trip.
  • 5
    out of 5

    Maggie Wardle
    18th July 2015

    Very enjoyable self guided ride.